If you don’t complete these classes your driver’s license could be revoked–along with your probation. You can take the classes online or at one of many education centers around Houston. Costing in the hundreds of dollars, DWI classes are yet another price to pay for a criminal conviction.
At The Law Offices of Ned Barnett, we know the burdens of a DWI conviction. That’s why we take every step possible to obtain the dismissal or acquittal of our clients’ cases. In our experience, our ability to obtain favorable outcomes is strongest in the early stages of the DWI process.
The Cost and Length of Your Class Depends on Your DWI Conviction
The Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) dictates the content of mandatory classes for anyone convicted of DWI. Depending on whether you’re a first timer, a juvenile, or a repeat offender, you may have to take six to 32 hours of classes:
- First offenders–the classes will last 12 hours and cover topics like Texas DWI laws and penalties, the effect of substances on your behavior and driving ability, and how to recognize possible symptoms of substance dependency. The cost of this class generally ranges from $150 to $200.
- Juvenile offenders–If you’ve been convicted of DWI and are under the legal drinking age of 21, your classes will cost $60 or more and last six hours. The topics covered include Texas penalties and laws for DWI, the dangers of substance abuse, the effect of alcohol on your driving, and the public safety risks posed by intoxicated driving.
- Second time or aggravated first time offenders–Your classes will last 16 hours, and may cost over $200. These classes cover additional topics such as the health issues posed by drugs and alcohol, their effect on your family, and treatment options such as 12-step programs. The classes will give you tools for dealing with peer pressure, the possibility of relapse, and planning to avoid situations where you might get behind the wheel after drinking.
- Third or subsequent offenders–Your classes may be anywhere from 20 to 32 hours, and cost over $300. These classes address a wide range of topics dealing with the public safety and health risks posed by intoxicated driving. It is a significant investment of time and money that you cannot avoid if you are a repeat offender. The only leeway you may get is a time extension to complete the class if you can’t finish it within a seven week period.
You may take your classes online, which gives you more flexibility and saves on commute time. But the online classes are often more expensive than taking the classes in person at one of the following centers:
- Harris Alcohol Education Services
11200 Broadway Street, Suite 2743
Pearland, TX 77584
710 N Post Oak Rd, Suite 309
Houston, Texas 77024
- Solutions Plus
4625 North Freeway, Suite 127
Houston, TX 77022
- Solutions Plus
1610 James Bowie Drive, Suite B-108
Baytown, TX 77520
- Texas Alcohol Drugs Awareness Program (TADAP)
8951 Ruthby Street, Suite 8B
Houston, TX 77061
- DWI No More
45 Tidwell Road
Houston, TX 77022
- Alcohol & Traffic Safety Institute
2909 Hillcroft, Suite 275
Houston, TX 77057
Call a Harris County DWI Lawyer Today
You may be able to avoid taking these classes along with other harsh DWI consequences like fines, jail time, court fees, increased insurance premiums, and career setbacks by working with an experienced lawyer from the earliest stages of your DWI Case. At The Law Offices of Ned Barnett we will fight to get you the best outcome possible to your drunk or drugged driving case. For more information about your options, contact us today (713) 222-6767 for a free consultation.