Do I Have to Register in Texas if I Was Convicted of a Sex Crime In Another State?Published: Apr 03, 2017 in Sex Crimes
No matter where you live, a sex crime conviction comes with harsh penalties and haunting effects. As part of the consequences, all states require you to register as a sex offender; however, the requirements vary, depending on the crime and state in which it occurred. So what happens when you are convicted of a sex crime in one state and then move to Texas? A Houston sex crimes lawyer can explain the process to you.
If you have additional questions about this process or living with a sex crimes conviction, call The Law Offices of Ned Barnett at (713) 222-6767.
What Texas Law Says
Sex offender registry laws were enacted on September 1, 1991. According to these laws, those were convicted of sex crimes in other states or countries are required to register as a sex offender in Texas if both of these conditions apply:
- The conviction was a “reportable conviction or adjudication,” and
- The offender resides, works, or attends school in Texas.
If you are not a resident of Texas, you are not totally off the hook. You are still required to register as a sex offender if you work or attend school in the state. Once you stop attending school or working in Texas, and you have no residency in the state, you no longer have to register there.
To get clarification as to whether or not you have to register in Texas, it’s important to understand what is considered a “reportable conviction or adjudication.” The following sex crimes require sex offender registry upon conviction:
- Continuous sexual abuse of a young child or children
- Indecency with a child
- Sexual assault
- Aggravated sexual assault
- Prohibited sexual conduct
- Compelling prostitution
- Sexual performance by a child
- Possession or promotion of child pornography
- Aggravated kidnapping
- Certain Burglary Offenses
- Unlawful restraint
- Kidnapping/aggravated kidnapping
- Indecent exposure
- Online solicitation of a minor
- Trafficking of persons
The Texas Department of Public Safety understands that the elements of a crime vary from place to place. If you are unsure if the crime you were convicted of in another state or country qualifies as an offense requiring sex offender registry, the Texas Department of Public Safety will review the details of the crime you committed and make a determination.
If you are required to register, you must do so for 10 years or life. You will be required to register for life if you were convicted of a sexually violent offense, such as sexual assault. Only in certain cases can you request an exemption.
Get Legal Help
Understanding the requirements that apply to sex offender registry can be complicated. You may not be aware of how to register, where to register, and how often to register. However, you cannot simply ignore the laws. Failure to register as a sex offender is a felony offense punishable by prison time and hefty fines.
Houston sex crimes lawyer Ned Barnett has 30 years of experience in the legal field. He knows the laws and regulations that apply to sex offenders who reside in Texas. He will help you meet your requirements so you don’t face additional penalties.
Get the help you need by contacting The Law Offices of Ned Barnett at (713) 222-6767.