Houston Sex Crimes: Average Sentences & PenaltiesPublished: Jul 17, 2020 in Criminal Defense, Sex Crimes, Sex Crimes Involving Children
Even the whisper of a sexual accusation can have devastating effects. But when formal sex crime charges are brought against you, things get even more serious.
A sex crime conviction in Texas means facing several harsh penalties, including incarceration, fines, the loss of your job, and more. With the possibility of prison looming, it’s vital to contact an experienced Houston sex crimes lawyer.
At The Law Offices of Ned Barnett, we know how challenging sex crime accusations are. To discuss your case in a free and confidential consultation, contact us online or call (713) 222-6767 right away.
What Are the Average Sentences for Texas Sex Crimes?
Under the Texas Penal Code, there are various penalties for Texas sex crimes. If convicted, the specific punishment will vary depending on the appropriate misdemeanors or felony-level sex offense.
Types of Sex Crimes in Texas
- Sexual Assault – Depending on your alleged actions and the age of the victim, you may be charged with a first or second-degree felony.
- Prostitution & Solicitation – These can be charged as class A or B misdemeanors, or as third, second, first-degree, or state jail felonies.
- Indecent Exposure & Public Lewdness – Indecent exposure is a class B misdemeanor, while public lewdness is a class A misdemeanor.
- Revenge Porn – While once classified as a class A misdemeanor, it was recently heightened to a state jail felony.
- Child Pornography – If you have child porn convictions on your record, you will face either a second or first-degree felony charges. However, if it is your first offense, you will be charged with a third-degree felony.
Texas Sex Crimes Sentencing
When convicted of a sex crime, your sentence depends on:
- The nature of your offense
- The age and/or disposition of the victim
- Your criminal record
Felony Sex Crime Sentences
If convicted of a felony sex crime in Texas, you face mandatory time behind bars:
- First-degree felony – Between five and 99 years or life in prison, fines reaching $10,000
- Second-degree felony – Two to 20 years in prison, and fines of up to $10,000
- Third-degree felony – Two to 10 years in prison, and up to $10,000 in fines
- State jail felony – 180 days to two years in state jail, and fines up to $10,000
Misdemeanor Sex Crime Sentences
If convicted of a misdemeanor sex crime, you face:
- Class C misdemeanor – A fine of up to $500
- Class B misdemeanor – Up to 180 days in jail, and/or fines reaching $2,000
- Class A misdemeanor – Up to one year in jail, and a fine of up to $4,000
Sex Offender Registration
Even after serving a jail or prison sentence for a sex offense, you may also be required to register as a sex offender. If convicted of certain sex crimes in Texas, you must:
- Complete a registration form
- Describe your offense and the age of the victim
- Provide a recent photograph and fingerprints
- Supply employment information
- List your name, date of birth, and other basic information
Registration can be permanent or temporary, depending on your age, record, the age of the victim(s), and other details relevant to your case.
Ohter Consequences of a Sexual Conviction
Being convicted of a sex crime harms your reputation, relationships, and may result in long prison sentences. But the negative impact does not stop there. The fines and sex offender registration will affect you long after your release.
In addition, sex convictions can limit your ability to live where you want, access social media, own a gun, obtain or maintain employment, enroll in higher education programs, or secure some licenses and certifications. You may even lose custody of your children or have trouble with citizenship.
Contact a Houston Sex Crimes Lawyer for Help
Sex crime cases involve complicated issues and stark penalties. Therefore, it’s critical to take accusations serioulsy from the start. It’s best to retain an attorney who has worked for years defending clients who have faced similar accusations.